The current twenty dollar bill features President Andrew Jackson. His portrait has been on the obverse side of the twenty dollar bill since 1929.

2004 20 Dollar Bill

Andrew Jackson was the 7th president of the United States. Born in 1767, he is one of the most famous American public servants. Prior to his political career he was a general in the US Army. Jackson served as president from 1829-1837. During his presidency he was able to pay off the national debt in full, an accomplishment that no other president has done.

Early Twenty Dollar Bills

Andrew Jackson was not the only person ever featured on a twenty dollar bill. Before Jackson appeared on the 1929 $20 bills, other historical figures were featured on these bills.

Some of the early series feature the following historical figures: President Abraham Lincoln, Alexander Hamilton, financier Hugh McCulloch, naval hero Stephen Decatur, Secretary of the Treasury Daniel Manning, Chief Justice John Marshall, President James Garfield, President George Washington, and President Grover Cleveland.



A Guide Book of United States Paper Money

See also:

Who Is on the 1 Dollar Bill?
Who Is on the 2 Dollar Bill?
Who Is on the 5 Dollar Bill?
Who Is on the 10 Dollar Bill?
Who Is on the 50 Dollar Bill?
Who Is on the 100 Dollar Bill?